Organicglamourgirl's Blog



Chicken n’ Dumpling Soup for the Soul…..In July?

I just invented (I’m calling it an invention because there was no recipe!) the most amazing Chicken and Dumpling Soup for Two.

Matt and I got done doing our chores and really wanted lunch.  Since we had been so busy all morning, Matt offered to go out and pick something up for us.  We talked back and forth all morning about where we wanted our lunch from and NOTHING appealed to us both.  So, by 2:15 I was ready to eat my arm off! I started rummaging through the kitchen and realized I could make a mean soup from the things I had on hand…Thus Chicken n’  Dumpling Soup for Two was born…….

My portion! Matt's was about 25% bigger than mine.
My portion! Matt’s was about 25% bigger than mine.My first attempt at dumplings turned out well! These things are super easy when you cheat with bisqick!

Picture 134Here is the Recipe:

Chicken n’ Dumpling Soup for Two
1/2 can of all natural chicken
1 1/4c. bisquick
1/2 c. organic milk
1/3 can organic corn, drained
1/3 can organic green beans, drained
1 organic carrot, chopped
4 cups water
4 chicken bouillion cubes
pinch sea salt
gerous shake of ground black pepper
pinch of poultry seasoning
pinch of dried thyme
pinch of rosemary
1 tsp smart balance butter
 
In medium sauce pan bring to boil the  water, bouillion cubes, all veggies, butter, and chicken.  Add in seasonings. In seperate medium mixing bowl stir together your bisquick mix and milk until it forms a soft dough.  Spoon out 7 dollops of dough and drop the dumplings directly into your boiling soup.  Reduce Heat to simmer and simmer uncovered for 10 minutes.  Then cover your soup and simmer an additional 10 minutes.  Dish out into two bowls and enjoy!
 
I can’t see this becoming a staple in our house until Winter.  Today was freakishly chilly in Ohio…it’s in the 60’s mid afternoon!
 
To drink with my soup I mixed this glass with have water and ice and half organic apricot mango juice.  It was super refreshing.  And I like the light fruity taste with my soup!
 
Picture 135
Off to dress for Cindy’s party! I’m not sure what to wear since it’s so chilly!  Should be a fun night to sit around the fire pit though!
Leave a Reply

